As a Black Man, the N-Word Doesn’t Offend Me…Sorry?

Stage in the Sky
6 min readSep 11, 2022

--

I wasn’t going to make a post about this video I recorded, but after reading one of the responses, I felt I had to dive deeper.

In the Caption, I say “I want to make it clear that I don’t speak for All Black People in this video…at the same time, I hate it when people who have the spotlight…THEY speak for all black people as if we all agree, as if we all feel the same. We don’t.”

As expected, there were a lot of people who saw the title of the video and just jumped to conclusions and posted comments without having actually watched the video. Which is alright. That seems to be the way of things. Not to mention, I think it brings a smirk to the faces of those who did watch the video and know I addressed a point the commenter was trying to make.

The whole point of me doing my videos, or writing my essays with a particular angle is to bring to light an opinion I haven’t seen presented on a greater scale. For instance, I didn’t post anything about the Will Smith slap for months because already I’ve seen it being covered. However, when it comes to the dreaded “N-word” and the controversy surrounding BYU and the Duke Volleyball player…I felt it was time to say something.

First off, as I mention in the video, I want to hammer home how there are a lot of Black People who are indeed offended and hurt by the N-Word and they have every right to be given their life experiences. (this is a monumental point that I’m glossing over because I don’t want this focus to be about the historical plight and oppression of Black Americans, though that is important. I know my black history. I know what’s happened.)

That being said, one of the things I HATE so much about Black Culture (I’m part of Black Culture because I happens to be Black)…is this notion of “because you’re hurt and offended, I should be too.”

Nope. I reject that notion. I UNDERSTAND why you’re hurt and offended, but recognize that I am not you. Just because we’re both black, doesn’t mean we have the same personalities, the same likes, the same preferences, or the same experiences. That isn’t to say you’re wrong and I’m right. It’s to express that we are DIFFERENT! We may have similarities…but we are not the same.

One of the comments I got on my video overnight was, “If the n word mean nothing to you then you have no perception of your culture. Where is your”

That comment has since been edited by the poster to just say “ Smfh “

And it’s sad. I wish she had kept her original comment because it proves my point, a point that still has so many of my black peers chained to a mindset that I believe is holding them back from truly progressing and moving forward. As long as they have this mindset, they will always feel oppressed no matter what concessions they get, not matter how much money they get from any reparations, and no matter how many times people take a knee or feel the guilt to apologize for some ancestor they never even knew.

My response to this Commenter was: “Hi Ms. Yvonne, lol. I saw your original comment, which appears to have been deleted (or edited). I really wanted to respond because you made an interesting statement in saying, “If the n word mean nothing to you then you have no perception of your culture”…as I’m sure you’ve gathered by watching the video, that’s one of my biggest contentions when it comes to the culture.

“I know that there are a lot of black people who feel like the race is one monolithic organization where if one person is insulted, we’re all insulted. But I don’t think like that. My black brothers and cousins don’t think like that. I understand why a lot of black people do think that way, but that’s why I’m really publishing these videos to show how “Black Culture” is more than just Hip hop and what you see on TV and the Media.

“We’re more diverse as a race with different thoughts and opinions. To assume that everyone feels the same way, are offended by the same things, and should vote, date, and behave a certain way just because they are born black…I’d argue this perception exists because for a lot of Black People, that’s the only culture they’ve been exposed to. So when they see a Brother like me, I imagine it is a bit disappointing. But that doesn’t mean we’re wrong. We’re just different.”

One last point, but I want to make it clear that I don’t believe the N-Word means “ nothing “ to me. An insult is an insult. But to me…it simply isn’t as powerful and crippling as the Media and other Black People make it out to be (see video). Instead, I’m more focused on the black on black violence, the rampant single motherhood and single parent households that have a high risk of producing future criminals, runaways, and teen pregnancy.

I’m more concerned about the part of Black Culture that has so much influence on our youth. I’m more concerned about the people who seem to prioritize passing down these feelings of oppression and angst towards a word and how White people view them, when they should prioritize passing down good virtues and morality, a sense of responsibility, a sense of right and wrong. (the pic below is of Jay Fizzle. A rapper with 14 baby-mommas who were all “brave” enough to gather for an interview where they’re hoping to make a reality TV show.)

If the Media, Corporations, and Political Parties gave half as much attention to these issues that are causing REAL damage to the Black Community…if Black Lives Matter prioritized these issues…I dunno.

The only solution I have towards all these problems is a return to Christ. Whether you think I’m wrong, whether I disagree with the way you live your life…if all of us prioritized God’s opinions, if we adapted Christ’s teachings on how we should be living our lives, we’d all be better off. There’d be less resentment and “smfh” towards others who happen to be different, because we’d be united in our striving to do what’s good in God’s eyes.

Don’t worry Jack, I am working on my Redemption piece, because I really do agree that it would encourage others to turn away (repent) from the glamorized sinful lifestyles. But…lol, even as I focus on the “Rewards of Redemption”…it’s a bit difficult to make it so appealing to my generation. I probably shouldn’t have to make it so appealing…but, if they were like me before I read the Bible, I suspect one of the biggest problems with my generation is that it’s difficult to “imagine” the blessings. For my peers who are inundated with social media and images of worldly lifestyles on a daily bases…I want to paint a picture for them.

Originally published at http://stageinthesky.com on September 11, 2022.

--

--